October 6, 2011 Freedom Plaza

8 Responses to “October 6, 2011 Freedom Plaza”


  1. 1 Paula August 6, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    It’s about time, America! If we look at our past…only the people can bring positive change. Let’s tell corporations & govenment that enough is enough! We want the same American Dream our ancestors had. I am planning to attend with my 73 year old mother! Hope every American makes a sincere attempt to be there for the future of our country.

  2. 2 Carolyn August 6, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    I’m a senior citizen who has lived in an America that provided me the best of times. That America is gone & I support ANY effort to return to my children & grandchildren the America that I once knew. I intend to be in DC on the 6th of October. I may show up with a walker or in a wheelchair, but I plan to be there! It is time to let the corporations & politicians in this country know that we are living wiith injustice & we are sick of it!

  3. 3 Zeke Krahlin August 14, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Most of the people who would like to attend, simply cannot afford the expense. Yet these are the very same people who most deserve to have a voice at this momentous gathering. Myself included…I live on a monthly disability stipend, and nothing else…can barely afford my food and rent. Ironic of course, in that a main issue is poverty: yet how can one expect poor folks to pay for travel, lodging, food, etc.? Therefore, how much /true/ representation will the downtrodden really have there? Or will this be another Daily/Colbert type Rally to Restore yuppie elitism? Save the upper middle class snobs, yay!

    • 4 dcblogger August 14, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      I take you point. There is a place on the web site for help with travel and board http://october2011.org/travelforum

      But even if you can’t come, if you just use your blog to write about it and comment on it, it will help. Online visibility is very important.

      • 5 Zeke Krahlin August 15, 2011 at 12:04 am

        dcblogger: The travelforum is hardly a service to assist the poor and low-income, in attending this rally. You are not going to find such people in cyberspace (for the most part), you need to have a program that seeks them out, and also provides shelter and food for the rally’s duration. I don’t see any of this happening.

  4. 6 K Kelly September 6, 2011 at 5:57 am

    I really can’t afford to go myself, but I’m going anyway. I do have certain health issues, but I’m making the trek up from Central Virginia. I will be there for the weekend off and on doing my tiny part. I’ve been to several protests in my lifetime and this is no different. Things have changed since I was my son’s age, and I don’t want him living in a Corporate Fascist country where Freedom is a word with a fake meaning, history is re-written and a small group of rich people control everything, including the Government.

  5. 7 Jimmy Childs September 13, 2011 at 7:46 am

    The top 400 income earners in America make as much as the 150 million poorest citizens and congress is talking about eliminating taxes on corporations to create jobs. Exxon paid 0 taxes last year as did so many, many corporations. They have so many loopholes that they don’t have to pay anything. Heck, Exxon, the record earning corporation of all time received millions of taxpayer dollars in subsidies at the same time they paid no taxes. Whose campaign donations control Republican and Democrat professional politicians? The wealthy already rule America! It’s time to take it back. Wall street and the wealthy are enjoying profitable times. Guess who’s paying for it? If we don’t start standing up to them and demanding changes, nothing will change!


  1. 1 October 6th: This Time Is Different. This Time We Are Not Leaving! #MarchOnWashington #OCT06 « Ishtarmuz's Blog Trackback on August 23, 2011 at 4:35 am

Leave a Reply

