Correntewire, the blog that everybody hates and no one admits to reading

UPDATE: In this economy it is truly mean spirited to attack someone’s fundraiser. I would never do that even in a great economy.

Our good buddy Alt Hippo commenting in the Rumproast Form:
Alt Hippo

Kevin K: not boiling it down, per se, but I’m pretty sure the “what have you done” card never existed before Bowers asked them how come they don’t use their blog for good instead of for whine.

There are certainly get out of jail free cards. For example, saying that Obama can’t be trusted on healthcare (or on anything) because of his FISA vote as a senator. A “what have you done” card is new to me.

VastBugXHussein, like many folks on the faux-left, is very passive. And, like most passive people they would rather justify their passivity than make the effort to do something.

Obviously I think that CorrenteWire is constructive. I am too lazy to dig it out, but we save one of our readers a bundle on their insurance by exposing Aetna’s illegal behaviour. But it is constructive in a much larger way. Providing analysis of netroots truthiness is very valuable. At least I think it is.

Part of the attack on single payer from the HCAN’t wing of Netroots is to pretend that we are wasting time agitating for single payer. I know for a fact that those active in the single payer movement have a very different view of Corrente. Accusing us of lack of constructive action is just another variety of HCAN’t enforcement. (Although I must admit I started it by calling the HCAN’t bloggers health care defeatists.)

Readers know that those of us who took refuge at Corrente decided that Obama was untrust worthy long before the FISA vote.

Later on the same thread

I have a question. Why does Lambert spend his time in adolescent sniping in the quick hits section of Open Left? (example). As both Kevin K and Chris Bowers point out, he gets enough traffic at Corrente so that shouldn’t be necessary.

Secondly, it appears that the result of Bowers confronting Lambert on his lack of constructive behavior has resulted in Corrente initiating an anti-Bowers campaign, or at least the beginning of one.

What is Lambert’s fascination with Bowers and Open Left? The result is that I’m less likely to go to Open Left because of all the barf Lambert leaves over there. Is that what he’s shooting for?

I guess what I’m asking is does Lambert have some kind of psychological disorder, or is this part of a plan?

I can’t remember lambert linking back to CorrenteWire, the Quick Hits I have seen link to stories about the Mad as Hell Doctors and other single payer news. lambert needs no defense, but I must confess accusing your critics of suffering some sort of psychological disorder strikes me as Soviet.

I rarely read rumproast and basically know the blogger only from their comments at Booman, and I rarely read Booman; but rumproast strikes me as an Obama enforcer. People like that have no idea how they come across outside of their narrow circle, and heaven forfend that anyone hold up a mirror.

lambert has made great sacrifices to run one of the most truly splendid blogs in lefty blogosphere. Please send him a donation if you can.

1 Response to “Correntewire, the blog that everybody hates and no one admits to reading”


  1. 1 Betty Cracker October 2, 2009 at 2:57 am

    I rarely read rumproast and basically know the blogger only from their comments at Booman, and I rarely read Booman; but rumproast strikes me as an Obama enforcer.

    Well, I am a co-blogger at Rumproast, and I can tell you that, although all of us were Obama supporters, we’re not Obama enforcers. When one of his policies pisses us off, we complain about it.

    Another thing that might surprise you is that all of us at Rumproast (I think) favor a single-payer system and think the Dems’ approach has been way too timid and incremental. Since you rarely read the blog, I guess you wouldn’t know that. But hey, don’t let that stop you from leaping to the next conclusion.

    People like that have no idea how they come across outside of their narrow circle, and heaven forfend that anyone hold up a mirror.

    Ain’t that the truth. Might want to take a look in that mirror yourself there, pal.


Leave a Reply

