Bust the teacher

It is always sad to read about someone’s dream going sour. Even if you think they are naive to the point of being misguided, it is truly sad.

There is a barbarous side to childhood, a false sense of power a group of children can get from driving their teachers crazy. Somehow it is not possible to communicateto them that the memory of that will make them cringe as adults.

5 Responses to “Bust the teacher”


  1. 1 DC Teacher Chic November 22, 2008 at 6:18 am

    You surprised me. I thought you might take advantage of an opportunity to be cruel – a few have, sadly.

  2. 2 dcblogger November 22, 2008 at 6:25 am

    While I am often angry, I try not to be cruel.

    I think you are on the wrong side of a labor war, I don’t think the creature who fired Art Siebens is on the side of the children. I don’t think anyone who is more interested in giving press interviews than doing their job should be in public service, certainly not with authority over children. I think Chancellor Potty Mouth is scamming a Nigerian Email contract and I hope Vincent Gray trounces Fenty in 2010.

  3. 3 tfteacher November 22, 2008 at 7:54 am

    I know how hard a decision it is to take care of yourself as opposed to taking care of other peoples children. Those who are giving DCTeacher a hard time apparently think teachers are supposed to sacrifice their sanity and happiness for the benefit of the students.

    In my district (Bay Area, CA), if I quit, my credential could be revoked. So, it is serious. And considering there is little to no recourse when a principal screws up, some teachers will be willing to give up their credential if it means they can retain a life.

    Anyone who thinks a bunch of students, ill served by their parents, should take priority over one’s happiness and sanity is living in a “teacher-as-savior” world. The sooner we abandon that notion, the sooner we can get on with teaching!

    DCTeacher, you did what you had to do. Brush it off.

  4. 4 Miss Malarkey November 24, 2008 at 5:16 am

    I’ve been a teacher in NYC for a dozen years. Lately I have been thinking that I’d like to leave, do something else, anything else. The hits come from all sides- parents, kids, admins, the media. People do think that we should sacrifice everything. Where I teach, it seems almost expected that since some of the parents don’t put in the time with their kids, that we will.

    I completely understand why people leave. If it was a viable option for me right now, I’d really consider it.

  5. 5 dcblogger November 24, 2008 at 5:41 am

    I think the way the news media had beaten up on teachers is reprehensible.

    As for parents, all I can say is that teachers also work for those of us who don’t have children but who want the next generation to be educated. That is part of what I pay taxes for, and I am trying, in my insignificant way, to defend teachers, and to point out that those who attack them are not trying to reform public education but destroy it.


Leave a Reply

